Welcome to the Western Tidewater Radio Association
Serving Amateur Radio in Southeast Virginia

The Western Tidewater Radio Association is pleased to announce the 2015 KG4BKI Scholarship recipients.

2015 KG4BKI Scholarship recipients

Top left: Alex Peters – KI4UNO recipient (Old Dominion University), Dick Harrell – W4RBH, Jo Weaver – KG4ZGC
Top right: Rebekah Wilson – KJ4WCK recipient (Paul D Camp Community College), Dick Harrell – W4RBH, Jo Weaver – KG4ZGC
Bottom left: Joe Horton – N4LWC accepting on behalf of Casey Horton – W4MIM recipient (University of Virginia), Dick Harrell – W4RBH, Jo Weaver – KG4ZGC
Bottom right: Walt Bernacki – KJ4WDP, Dakota Bernacki – KK4BWI recipient (Tidewater Community College), Joe Horton – N4LWC, Chris Peters – N4KIT

The scholarship fund was established in 2015 in honor of Fred Weaver- KG4BKI (SK) who was a lifelong educator and student. Fred always took interest and gave encouragement in the educational endeavors of both relatives and friends, and was the driving force behind the club’s licensing class efforts. The fund was initially endowed by contributions from the Weaver family, members of the club and anonymous donations. To qualify for a scholarship award, an applicant must:

• Submit an application, including an essay
• complete their secondary education (High School)
• Be a member in good standing of the WTRA,
• Be currently a licensed amateur radio operator
• Be enrolled in an accredited two or four year college, accredited trade school, or accredited graduate school

Congratulations to Alex, Rebekah, Casey and Dakota, we wish you the best of luck in your studies and future endeavors!