Welcome to the Western Tidewater Radio Association
Serving Amateur Radio in Southeast Virginia


In February of 2020,  Virginia ARES was reorganized into seven districts from the former 15 in order to bring the geographic boundaries into alignment with the Virginia Department of Emergency Management (VDEM) Regions.  In the previous alignment, our “service area” was whole contained within the former District 10 encompassing the counties of Greenville, Isle of Wight, Southampton, Surry and Sussex.  The new District 5 is much larger and encompasses Accomack, Chesapeake, Gloucester, Hampton, Isle of Wight, James City, Lancaster, Matthews, Middlesex, Northampton, Northumberland, Norfolk, Portsmouth, Poquoson, Richmond, Southampton, Suffolk, Surry, Westmoreland, York and Virginia Beach.  Our “service area” is now the Western Tidewater area of District 5 encompassing Isle of Wight, Southampton and Surry counties.

District 5 Leadership

District Emergency Coordinator

Terry Buzzard – KA8TNF

ADEC5 – Western Tidewater (Old District 10)
Randy Grigg – WB4KZI
ADEC5- South Tidewater (Old District 9)
Terry Buzzard, KA8TNF
ADEC5- Eastern Shore (Old District 8)
ADEC5- First Colony (Old District 7)
 Edward (Ed) Shuman, WD0FYV
ADEC5- Rappahannock (Old District 5)

Western Tidewater Leadership

Assistant District Emergency Coordinator

Randy Grigg – WB4KZI

Emergency Coordinator – Isle of Wight
Chris Peters – N4KIT
Assistant Emergency Coordinator – Admin
Lyle Piner – N4ACK
Assistant Emergency Coordinator – Smithfield
Butch Moore – W4DXZ
Assistant Emergency Coordinator – Windsor
Joe Horton – N4LWC
Assistant Emergency Coordinator – Traffic/Nets
Glen Little – KA7HBH
Emergency Coordinator – Southampton/Franklin
Bruce Edwards – KG4QAQ
Emergency Coordinator – Surry